asked 6.6k views
4 votes
A-1 ends his/her dribble. A-1 then fumbles the ball, runs and recovers the ball. The official rules this a violation. Is the official correct?

asked
User Antoni
by
8.4k points

1 Answer

4 votes

In basketball, it is not a violation if a player fumbles the ball and then recovers it, as long as they do not start a new controlled dribble. Hence, the official is incorrect in ruling it a violation.

In a game of basketball, once a player ends a dribble and picks up the ball, that player is not allowed to restart a new dribble. A player is allowed however to run and recover the ball if it's fumbled unintentionally. Therefore, if A-1 merely fumbled the ball, not purposely resuming a controlled dribble, then the official is incorrect to rule this a violation.

Learn more about Basketball Rules

answered
User Pokeb
by
8.2k points
Welcome to Qamnty — a place to ask, share, and grow together. Join our community and get real answers from real people.