asked 108k views
0 votes
During pre game warm up, A2 dunks. Later in the warm up B2 dunks. The officials rule that even though the fouls didn't happen at exactly at the same time, they are considered simultaneous technical fouls and cancel each other out. Is the official correct?

asked
User Kgriffs
by
9.3k points

1 Answer

4 votes

The official is not correct. According to NFSH rules, each technical foul is penalized independently. Consequently, the technical fouls committed by A2 and B2 would not cancel each other out.

The official is not correct in this scenario. In basketball, according to National Federation of State High School Associations (NFSH) rules, simultaneous technical fouls by opposing teams during pre game warm ups do not cancel each other out. Each technical foul is penalized independently. So, if A2 and B2 each committed a technical foul, their fouls would each be penalized, regardless of the timing of the infractions.

In this scenario, the fouls committed by A2 and B2 during the warm-up are not considered simultaneous technical fouls. Simultaneous fouls are those which are committed by opposing teams at exactly the same time during play, not during the warm-up. So the claims of the official that they cancel each other out is not accurate according to the rules of the game.

Learn more about Basketball rules

answered
User Fatih Tan
by
8.7k points
Welcome to Qamnty — a place to ask, share, and grow together. Join our community and get real answers from real people.