asked 76.3k views
4 votes
B-1 commits his/her 5th foul and is disqualified. The official informs Team B head coach and tells the table Team B has 15 second to replace B-1 and to start the clock. Is the official correct?

1 Answer

4 votes

Final answer:

With B-1's 5th foul, they are disqualified which is correct, but the given 15 seconds to replace B-1 is shorter than standard rules – usually 20 to 30 seconds.

Step-by-step explanation:

In basketball, when player B-1 commits his/her 5th foul they are indeed disqualified for the rest of the game, which aligns with standard rules. However, the official's decision to give Team B only 15 seconds to replace B-1 is not according to standard rules. The standard time for a team to replace a disqualified player is usually 20 seconds (or up to 30 seconds depending on the governing body). Hence, the official is partially correct, but has given less time for replacement than usual.

Learn more about Basketball Rules

answered
User Plokko
by
8.9k points
Welcome to Qamnty — a place to ask, share, and grow together. Join our community and get real answers from real people.