asked 152k views
4 votes
A-1 is fouled and awarded a one and one. Team A then calls timeout. After the timeout as the official is ready to administer the free throws, A-1 is not in the semi-circle. Official charges A-1 with a technical foul. Is the official correct?

asked
User Swar
by
8.7k points

1 Answer

4 votes

In basketball, a player is expected to be correctly positioned in the semi-circle or behind the free-throw line for a free throw. Failing to do so will result in a technical foul as per NFHS Rule 8 Section 1 Article 4. Therefore, the official was correct in charging A-1 with a technical foul.

In the sport of basketball, the ruling here is due to a violation of the free throw procedures set by the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS). According to NFHS Rule 8 Section 1 Article 4, a technical foul will be assessed if the free throw shooter does not take his/her place within the designated semi-circle or behind the free-throw line. So, the official is correct in charging A-1 with a technical foul for not being in the proper position at the designated time after the team's timeout. Therefore, it's crucial for all players to understand and follow the rules of the game to ensure fair play and to prevent any penalties or fouls from being charged.

Learn more about Basketball Rules

answered
User Glenfant
by
7.0k points
Welcome to Qamnty — a place to ask, share, and grow together. Join our community and get real answers from real people.